Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2004 Milton E. Wadsworth Award  

Awarded To: Kwadwo Osseo-Asare

“For his notable contributions in the field of hydro-metallurgy which has furthered the science and engineering of metallurgical processing”

Lecture Title: “Chemical Processes in Hydrometallurgy: Solids, Solutions, and Interfaces”

Kwadwo Osseo-Asare, professor of metallurgy in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and professor of geo-environmental engineering in the Department of Energy and Geo-Environmental Engineering, was recently named a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), an elite group of senior professionals in academia, business, and government who are among the world’s most accomplished engineers. Osseo-Asare was cited for his contributions to the fundamental understanding of interfacial phenomena in leaching and solvent extraction. The more than 2,000 peer-elected members and foreign associates of NAE provide leadership and expertise for numerous projects focused on the relationship between engineering, technology, and quality of life. Election to the NAE is considered the highest professional honor an engineer can attain.

Osseo-Asare received his B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of California (Berkeley) in 1970, 1972 and 1975, respectively. Osseo-Asare joined the faculty at Penn State in 1976 where he was promoted to professor in 1984 and served as chair of the Metals Science and Engineering Program from 1995-2000. He has published over 200 papers and supervised nearly forty M.S. and Ph.D. theses.

Osseo-Asare is a leading expert in aqueous processing, especially hydrometallurgy, separation science, materials synthesis and colloids and interfaces and has won numerous awards for his accomplishments, including the University’s Faculty Scholar Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Engineering (1999), the James Douglas Gold Medal of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) (1997) and the Matthew J. and Anne C. Wilson Award for Excellence in Research of the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences (1995). His work is noted for providing new conceptual frameworks and experimental approaches that have significantly advanced scientific understanding of ion and particle transfer, dissolution, and precipitation processes in hydrometallurgy, environmental systems, nanoparticle technology, and semiconductor manufacturing.

Osseo-Asare is actively involved in the international arena and was recently an invited participant in two meetings of the African mineral resources industry including a joint workshop of the United Nations (U.N.) Conference on Trade and Development and the U.N. Economic Commission for Africa in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and the Extractive Industries Review Multi-Stakeholder Consultation Meeting for Africa of The World Bank Group in Maputo, Mozambique. He serves on the leadership team of the Alliance for Earth Science, Engineering and Development in Africa (AESEDA), the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences’ new initiative on Africa. He has been a visiting professor at Tohoku University in Japan, The Federal University of Minas Gerais in Brazil, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology in Ghana, Imperial College of Science and Technology in London, and Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Osseo-Asare is a member of the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS), the Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration (SME), the American Chemical Society and the Electrochemical Society and is Editor-in-Chief of Hydrometallurgy, an international journal devoted to all aspects of the aqueous processing of metals.

About The Milton E. Wadsworth Award:

The Milton E. Wadsworth Metallurgy Award, established in 1992, recognizes distinguished contributions that advance our understanding of the science and technology of non-ferrous chemical metallurgy.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).