Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2007 Antoine M. Gaudin Award  

Awarded To: Thomas W. Healy

"For his innovative contributions to fundamental colloid and surface chemistry and their applications to mineral processing and related areas."
Professor Tom Healy has had a long and distinguished career in science and technology, higher education, management and in community service. He has held several senior positions at the University of Melbourne and at major Universities and industrial research centers in the U.K, the U.S.A. and Japan. Tom Healy was educated at the University of Melbourne with Bachelor and Master of Science Degrees majoring in Chemistry and Metallurgy. He then completed a PhD in Chemistry in 1963 at Columbia University, New York, USA. He joined the University of California, Berkeley, U.S.A., as a Lecturer-Research Fellow in Materials Science before returning to Australia in 1965 as a Queen Elizabeth II Fellow. From 1967 he was appointed as Senior Lecturer, Reader and then in 1977 Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Melbourne. He built an internationally recognized major research group, and over the period 1991-1999 was Director of the Australian Research Council funded Special Research Centre, the Advance Minerals Products Centre. This major Centre of Excellence spans the Departments of Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Mathematics and attracts significant national and international funding support from Government and industry. His scientific and technological contributions detailed in over 200 publications have been recognized through many national and international awards. He has supervised some 50 higher degree students, many of whom now hold senior academic, industrial and government research positions. He was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1984 and as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Science and Engineering in 1991. In 1999 he was awarded the Wark Medal of the Australian Academy of Science for his contributions to Science and Technology and the 1999 Lady Masson Lecturer of the University of Melbourne. In the period 1985-1990 he was Dean of Science at the University of Melbourne, one of Australia’s largest Faculties of Science. He was elected President of the Academic Board and appointed Pro-Vice Chancellor in 1997. In that position he played a leading role in the Senior Management team of one of Australia’s largest Universities. In 1999 in recognition of his services to science and technology he was awarded an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science by the University of Melbourne. Upon his retirement in December 1999, from the full-time staff of the University of Melbourne he was appointed Professor Emeritus and Deputy Director of the ongoing Australian Research Council Special Research Centre, the Particulate Fluids Processing Centre. He has held senior positions in Federal Government Agencies including membership of the Australian Research Council (ARC) 1993-1996. During that period he was Chair of the Institutional Grants Committee of the ARC, responsible for the core funding of research infrastructure across the Australian Higher Education Sector. He has been Principal of Colloid Consultants Pty. Ltd. for over 20 years, providing technical consultancy to many Australian and International companies in the resources, chemical and manufacturing sectors and to Universities, Government Agencies, and Australian and U.K. courts and legal firms. As a Governor the Ian Potter Foundation since 1990 he has provided expertise in areas of science, the environment and education. He is currently a Board member and the inaugural Chairman of the Australian Landscape Trust and formerly Honorary Treasurer and Board member of Philanthropy Australia Inc. He is married with four sons, seven grandchildren and resides in Carlton, Victoria. His hobbies include grandchildren, sailing and golf.

About The Antoine M. Gaudin Award:

The Antoine M. Gaudin Award, established in 1975, is for scientific or engineering contributions that further understanding of the technology of mineral processing. Eligible areas for contributions are agglomeration, classification, comminution, electrical and magnetic separation, flocculation and sedimentation, froth flotation, hydrometallurgy, particulate behavior, and other related mineral processing operations.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).