Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2003 Howard N. Eavenson Award  

Awarded To: Stanley C. Suboleski

For his outstanding contributions to the underground coal mining in the areas of operations research, the application of computers to mining, and mine safety engineering.
Stanley C. Suboleski is a Commissioner with the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission, a position that he has held since June, after retiring as Executive Vice President and Interim COO of Massey Energy Co. in Richmond, VA. Suboleski holds BS and PhD degrees in mining engineering from Penn State and an MS from Virginia Tech. Previous experience includes positions with Continental Illinois Bank and Trust, Consolidation Coal Co. and North American Coal Corp. He has also been professor and department head at Virginia Tech, and Centennial Professor of Mining Engineering at Penn State. Suboleski has been a consultant in the areas of production engineering, operations research and mine acquisitions. He has served in various capacities in SME and the Coal Division. He is past secretary and chairman of the Central Appalachian Section.

About The Howard N. Eavenson Award:

The Howard N. Eavenson Award, first presented in 1969, is given for distinguished contributions to the advancement of coal mining.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).