Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2014 Erskine Ramsay Medal Award  

Awarded To: Christopher Mark

Dr. Christopher Mark serves as the Principal Roof Control Specialist for the Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA). In this capacity he assists the Agency in the development of policy and practice directed at protecting coal miners from ground fall hazards. Prior to taking his current position with MSHA in 2010, he worked for 23 years as the leader of the ground control research program at the Pittsburgh Research Laboratory of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). He has made numerous contributions to mine safety that have been adopted into mining practice in the US and around the world, including the Analysis of Longwall Pillar Stability (ALPS), the Analysis of Retreat Mining Pillar Stability (ARMPS), and the Coal Mine Roof Rating (CMRR).

Dr. Mark first entered the mining industry in 1976 as an underground coal miner. He holds a Ph. D. from Penn State, and has also worked as a consulting engineer. In the course of his activities he has studied ground conditions at more than 300 coal mines throughout the U.S. and abroad, and has authored more than 140 professional publications. He has received numerous awards in recognition of his contributions to mine safety, including the Society of Mining and Metallurgy (SME) Syd. S. Peng Excellence in Ground Control Award.

Presenter (on right) is Dale A. Heinz, AIME President

About The Erskine Ramsay Medal Award:

The Ramsay Medal, established in 1948, and funded by AIME, recognizes distinguished achievement in coal mining, to include both bituminous coal and anthracite.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).