Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2014 William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal Award  

Awarded To: Timothy J. Haddon

President, Chief Executive Officer, a Director and part owner of International Natural Resource Management Company, a private company which invests in and provides consulting services to the mining industry.

1970 B.S. in Mining Engineering from Colorado School of Mines.

He served on the board of Alacer Gold Corp. (previously Anatolia Minerals Development Limited) from1998 to 2013 and was chairman from 2001. He was lead director of Thompson Creek Metals Company from 2007 until 2013 and currently serves as Chairman. A seasoned mining engineer with over 40 years of international mining and business experience, he spent 23 years working for TexasGulf and Amax with responsibilities in Africa, Australia, Southeast Asia, and North and South America.

Held the position of President and Chief Executive Officer of Archangel Diamond Corporation from October 1997 to December 2002; April 1994 to June 1997 he held various positions with First Dynasty Mines Ltd., from June 1989 to March 1994 he was President and Chief Executive Officer of Amax Gold Inc. Mr. Haddon is currently also a director of International Tower Hill Mines.

He has served as a board member and advisor at several companies, including Amax Gold Inc., Archangel Diamond Corporation, Ascendant Copper Corporation, First Dynasty Mines Ltd., Earth Resources Consortium, Australian Consolidated Minerals Ltd., Mineral Resources Alliance, World Gold Council's Membership Committee, NewWest Gold Corporation, the Gold Institute's Public Policy Committee, the Mining Executive, Environmental Roundtable, the National Mining Hall of Fame and the US Bureau of Mines Advisory Board.

Currently a member of SME, the Mining and Metallurgical Society of America and a Fellow of AusIMM

Has served the Colorado School of Mines (CSM) in numerous capacities including CSM Trustee Development Council, Mining Department Visiting Committee, Corporate and Foundation Gift Committee, and Class and Reunion Committees.

1993 awarded the CSM Distinguished Achievement Medal.

Currently serves on CSM's Board of Trustees.

Presenter (on right) is Dale A. Heinz, AIME President

About The William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal Award:

The William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal, established in 1927, and funded by AIME, recognizes distinguished achievement in mining other than coal.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).