Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2014 SME Distinguished Member Award  

Awarded To: William A. Warfield

Bill has been involved in SME beginning with the President of the Student Chapter at CSM. He was the Program Chair for the 5th Annual Uranium Symposium in 1981. He was the Pacific Southwest Region Chair in 2001-2002. Bill was involved in the San Francisco Section and the Sierra Nevada Section having worked through the Chairs to President of each. Bill helped draft the By-Laws whereby the two Sections were combined to form the present Northern California Section.

Bill is still involved with this Section working on the Scholarship Committee.

Bill was on the original Aggregates and Construction Materials Committee put together by President Mike Karmis. He was Program Chair for the Urban Mining Technical Sessions before becoming the Program Chair and then the Committee Chair for 2 years. Bill worked with Bill Langer to draft new By-Laws to combine the Industrial Minerals Division and Aggregates Committee to form the new Industrial Minerals and Aggregates Division of SME.

Bill is Past Chair of the M&E Division. During his tenure the M&E Division created the Miner of the Year Award which is designed to recognize leaders working on the mine sites that are able to manage production, people, community, safety and be good stewards of the environment. The Stuart Wallace Scholarship was also established.

Bill is Business Development Manager –GDE (Geologic Drilling and Exploration) for Atlas Copco CMT. He has held the positions of Product Manager-Ground Engineering Products and Western US Regional Sales Manager-Consumables. He joined Atlas Copco after they acquired the Drilling Solution Division of Ingersoll-Rand Co. in 2004. While with IR he was responsible for mining/quarry and D&B customers in Northern Calif. He was Regional Manager for the Split Set Division as well.

About The SME Distinguished Member Award:

The Distinguished Member Award, established in 1975, is presented to a select few who have distinguished themselves by demonstrating significant and sustained contributions to the minerals industry and to SME. There must be some contributions to both the industry and SME, though significant and sustained contributions can be to either one.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).