Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2013 Coal & Energy Division Distinguished Service Award  

Awarded To: Keith A. Heasley

Dr. Keith A. Heasley is the C.T. Holland professor in the Department of Mining Engineering at West Virginia University.  Also, he is presently serving as a board member of the Alpha Foundation.  Prior to his appointment with WVU in 2001, he was employed by the former U.S. Bureau of Mines and then the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) at the Pittsburgh Research Laboratory from 1986. 

He graduated in 1981 with a B.S. and in 1987 with a M.S. in Mining Engineer from The Pennsylvania State University.  While working for the U.S. Bureau of Mines, he obtained a Doctorate in Mining Engineering from the Colorado School of Mines in 1998.

He has been a very active member of the SME for over 30 years and presently serves as: Board member of the Pittsburgh Section, Associate Editor for Technical Papers, Chair of the Syd S. Peng Ground Control Award committee, and Instructor for the SME PE-Review course.  Previously he has served as: Chair of the Coal and Energy Division and as the chair and member of numerous SME committees.

His research interests are numerical modeling in rock mechanics, computer applications in mining, multiple-seam mine design and ground control.   He is probably best known as the originator and promoter of the LaModel program for coal mine pillar design.

Presenter (on right) is Vlad Kecojevic, 2013 C&E Division Chair

About The Coal & Energy Division Distinguished Service Award:

It is presented to an individual for achievements in the coal mining industry.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).