Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2013 Milton E. Wadsworth Award  

Awarded To: Gary A. Kordosky

Gary A. Kordosky holds a BS in Chemistry from St. John's University in Minnesota, an MS in Organic Chemisry and a PhD in Inorganic Chemistry both from The Ohio State University. After teaching for several years for faculty members on leave at OhioWesleyan he joined General Mills Chemicals in 1974 as a chemist in the General Mills Chemicals solvent extraction developmental laboratory in Tucson, Arizona. Other positions held in the Mining Chemicals Technology group of General Mills and its successors, Henkel and Cognis, include Technical Director, Manager Business Development and Key Account Manager. His experience includes development and evaluation of solvent extraction reagents for metal recovery, development and evaluation of processes for metal recovery, technical service including L / SX / EW training courses for customers plants prior to, during and after plant start-up and plant troubleshooting.

Kordosky is the inventor/co-inventory on 17 US patents and the author/co-author of more than 40 papers, most related to various aspects of metal recovery by solvent extraction. He received The Fritz Henkel Award for innovation in 1989 and the Cognis Innovation Award in 2007. He has presented at numerous short courses including the SME Heap Leaching Short Course, Copper 99, Uranium 2010, The Internationl Solvent Extraction Conference 2008 and he organized the short course for The International Solvent Extraction Conference 2011. Gary currently serves on the editorial board for the Journal of Hydrometallurgy and on the International Committee for Solvent Extraction. He also co-chaired the organizing committee for the 2008 International Solvent Extraction Conference, held in Tucson, AZ.

Currently Kordosky consults part time and also does substitute teaching for high school science courses.

Presenter (on right) is Corby G. Anderson, 2013 MPD Chair and Wadsworth Award Committee Chair

About The Milton E. Wadsworth Award:

The Milton E. Wadsworth Metallurgy Award, established in 1992, recognizes distinguished contributions that advance our understanding of the science and technology of non-ferrous chemical metallurgy.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).