Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2004 SME Distinguished Member Award  

Awarded To: Madan M. Singh

In recognition and appreciation of outstanding service to the minerals industry and to the Society.
Dr. Singh has been involved in a variety of technical and professional activities. The Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration, Inc. (SME) awarded him The Howard N, Eavenson Award in 2000, and the Coal Division of SME presented him with the Distinguished Service Award in 1997. In 1958, he won the SME Student Paper Prize, Graduate Division.

He was a Director of SME (1993-95), and was Chair, Coal Division of SME (1993-94). He chaired the SME Underground Ventilation Committee (1986-87). Madan was elected chair of the Chicago Section of AIME/ISS-SME (1980-81). He has served on and chaired several committees for the Society.

In the National Research Council of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering/U.S. National Academy of Science, Singh served on the Committee for Coal Waste Impoundments (2001). He was elected to the U.S. National Committee for Rock Mechanics, 1977-80; and was Co-chair, Subpanel on Interpretation/Scaling of Laboratory Results to Field Problems, 1979-81. He served on the U.S. National Committee on Tunneling Technology, 1974-76, and on its Committee on Technical Data and Information. He was Chairman of the Subcommittee on Rock Strength for a decade, 1968-77, for the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM).

In 1999, Dr. Singh was awarded the Robert Stefanko Distinguished Achievement Award by the Department of Energy and Geoenvironmental Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University. He was selected Centennial Fellow by the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences at Penn State in 1996. In 1978, Singh was conferred the Distinguished Alumnus Award by the Indian School of Mines and Applied Geology. In 1997, Dr. Singh was elected Fellow of the American Consulting Engineers Council (ACEC) and Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) in 1985. He is a Life Member of the Society of the Sigma Xi (since 1964), Life Member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (since 1965), and a Charter Member of the Institute of Shaft Drilling (since 1982). In 1990, he won the Minority Vendor of the Year Award (Illinois Minority and Female Business Enterprise Council). The Federal Highway Administration selected his company, Engineers International, Inc., for the 1999 Environmental Excellence Award. He was selected to serve on the prestigious Washington Award Committee (1980-82). In the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers, Inc. (AIME), he served as Chair, Environmental Conservation Distinguished Service Award committee (1989-90).

Dr. Singh was elected National Director of the American Consulting Engineers Council (ACEC) (1997-98). He was elected President of the Consulting Engineers Council of Illinois (CECI) (1996-1997), Vice President (1993-96), Secretary-Treasurer and Chair, Finance Committee (1992-93), and Director (1989-92) He was appointed to the Panel of Arbitrators of the American Arbitration Association. He has been active in HWAC (an association of engineering and science firms practicing in hazardous waste management), served on its insurance committee (1987-88). He was editor of its "Legislative Update" (1989-91) In June 1981, he went with a Coal Mining Delegation from the United States to the Peoples Republic of China.

Singh was elected a Director of Demeter Insurance Co. (1988-90). Madan has chaired six national conferences (including the Silver Anniversary Rock Mechanics Symposium and two Engineering Foundation Conferences). He is listed in Who's Who Among American Executives, Who's Who in the Midwest, American Men and Women of Science, and several other biographical compendia. He has authored well over 100 papers on various aspects of mining and geotechnical engineering and has lectured extensively in the USA and abroad. Singh is registered as a Professional Engineer in nine states.

About The SME Distinguished Member Award:

The Distinguished Member Award, established in 1975, is presented to a select few who have distinguished themselves by demonstrating significant and sustained contributions to the minerals industry and to SME. There must be some contributions to both the industry and SME, though significant and sustained contributions can be to either one.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).