Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The 2003 Daniel C. Jackling Award  

Awarded To: Douglas C. Yearley

In recognition for his outstanding management of Phelps Dodge Corporation. Under his leadership Phelps Dodge incorporated technological leaps that have become the model for industry. He will long be remembered for his pivotal role in helping to lead mining’s transformation into a modern, technologically advanced and environmentally conscious industry, and for his lecture ‘Sustainable Development for the Global Mining and Metals Industry’.
Mr. Douglas C. Yearley is Chairman Emeritus of Phelps Dodge Corporation. Mr. Yearley joined Phelps Dodge in 1960 in project development and held several key management positions during his 40-year career with the company. He was Chairman from 1989 until May 3, 2000, CEO from 1989 through 1999, and President from 1991 through 1997.
Mr. Yearley received a bachelor's degree in metallurgical engineering from Cornell University in 1958, and attended the Program for Management Development at Harvard Business School.
Active in a wide variety of business and professional organizations, Mr. Yearley serves on the boards of Lockheed Martin Corporation; United States Steel Corporation; Marathon Oil Company; and the Compatible Ventures Group, a special unit of The Nature Conservancy. He was a director of J. P. Morgan & Company, Incorporated, and Morgan Guaranty Trust Company from 1993-2000. Mr. Yearley is a member of the World Wildlife Fund’s National Council; and a graduate member of The Business Council.
He is the immediate past chairman of the International Council on Mining and Metals (ICMM), a global association formed to bring sustainable development to the mining industry; and was a member of the Assurance Group of the Mining, Minerals and Sustainable Development project (MMSD). Mr. Yearley was Copper Man of the Year in 1993; an inductee into the Mining Foundation of the Southwest Hall of Fame in 1995; a recipient of AIME’s Charles F. Rand Award in 1998; and received a Distinguished Service Award from the National Mining Association in 2000.

About The Daniel C. Jackling Award:

The Daniel C. Jackling Award, established in 1953, and funded by AIME, is presented for significant contributions to technical progress in mining, geology, and geophysics.


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).