Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The Stefanko Best Paper Award

The Stefanko Best Paper Award, established in 1983, recognizes authors presenting papers in the Coal & Energy Division technical sessions, at SME Annual Meetings, for their contributions to the body of knowledge. The award shall consider: 1) technical quality of the paper; and 2) quality of presentation. The award shall consist of a cash gift and certificate(s) for the author(s). In case of multiple authors the cash gift shall be divided equally among the authors.

Eligibility for the award requires that the papers for consideration: 1) should have been preprinted prior to the meeting; and 2) must be presented at the meeting by the author(s).

The selection of the best paper for the award shall be a four step process: 1) each session chair shall select only one paper from the session on the basis of the highest combined score of the technical and presentation evaluation scores; 2) the selected papers from the sessions shall be evaluated by the individual members of the Award Committee, the evaluation will be for the technical quality of the paper based on required criteria; 3) the average of the technical evaluation scores shall be calculated for each paper, to that shall be added the presentation score, determining the combined score for the paper; and 4) the paper for the award shall be selected by the Award Committee on review of the total scores, and is subject to the approval of the Coal & Energy Division Executive Committee with notification to the SME Executive Committee.

Award Recipients

Choose any of the award recipients listed for more information:


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).