Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The Howard N. Eavenson Award

The Howard N. Eavenson Award, first presented in 1969 and funded by AIME, is given for distinguished contributions to the advancement of coal mining. The award consists of cash and a certificate, appropriately inscribed with the name of the award, the name of the recipient, and the citation of the particular achievement for which the award is being conferred. Election to this honor is by the Eavenson Award Committee with notification to the SME Executive Committee.

The award shall be given to a U.S. resident, preferably but not necessarily a member of the Institute, who shall within a two year period in advance of his selection for the award have contributed the most to the advancement of the coal industry whether by research, invention, publication or advances in mining and development methods (labor relations not included).

Prior to June 1, the Chair of the Howard N. Eavenson Award Committee or a member of the Committee should receive any nominations to be presented to the full Committee. Nominations should give a full and complete statement of the reasons for proposing the candidate, with a record of their professional and industrial achievements in sufficient detail to enable the Committee to pass judgment on the candidate’s worthiness to receive the award.

Award Recipients

Choose any of the award recipients listed for more information:


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).