Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

The Erskine Ramsay Medal

The Ramsay Medal, established in 1948, and funded by AIME, recognizes distinguished achievement in coal mining, to include both bituminous coal and anthracite. The medal is accompanied by an engrossed diploma containing a citation of the service or achievement upon which the award is based. Election to this honor is by the SME Coal & Energy Division Officers with notification to the SME Executive Committee. Eligibility The conditions of eligibility are as follows: 1) there are no limitations regarding nationality, membership in the Institute, or otherwise; 2) a candidate must be a living person able and willing to present himself in person to receive the award; and 3) no person who has been awarded any of the other eight major AIME awards (Douglas, Saunders, Lucas, Rand, Richards, Fairless, Hardinge, and McConnell) is eligible for the Ramsay Medal.

Award Recipients

Choose any of the award recipients listed for more information:


© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).