

+1.303.948.4200 Fax: +1.303.973.3845 E-mail: sme@smenet.org www.smenet.org 12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle Englewood, CO 80112-4167

To: SME Members

From: Drew A. Meyer, SME President

Re: Nominations for SME Strategic Committees, Board of Directors and 2015 SME

President

It is that time of year in which SME needs your support in selecting the future leadership for our Society. SME is asking for your assistance in nominating and/or recommending members (including yourself) to serve the Society in one of the following roles:

2015 SME President 2014 – 2017 SME Board Member-at-large (two will be selected) Members for all SME Strategic Committees

To assist you in making a recommendation, the following criteria have been provided for your review. The 2015 SME President **must** be a current member of the Society and should meet these additional qualifications:

- The candidate holds or has previously held one or more senior positions with either a single firm or institution, or with multiple employers (including self-employment).
- (ii) In addition to service to the Society, the candidate has a degree in science, engineering or other degree applicable to the mineral industry.
- (iii) The candidate has a distinguished career of service to the profession or a record of accomplishment demonstrating leadership or technical expertise.
- (iv) The candidate understands the issues and challenges facing the Society and the mineral industry generally.
- (v) The candidate has superior communication skills, both written and oral.
- (vi) The candidate has previously served for at least one year as a member of the Board of Directors or of a committee reporting to the Board. Note that it is our intent to interpret "committee reporting to the Board" as broadly as possible to identify the best possible pool of candidates.
- (vii) The candidate has demonstrated a willingness to serve, including a willingness to bear the financial burdens of travel to meetings and other costs typically borne by officers and directors.
- (viii) The candidate demonstrates a willingness and desire to serve the Society as a whole and not to act as a representative of a narrower constituency within the membership of the Society.

The Board Members-at-Large **must** be current members of the Society. There are no established qualifications in the bylaws; however, the qualifications for President (other than item vi) may be considered for guidance.

Strategic Committee members should also be current members of the Society. We are looking for those members who have a desire to get more involved in the leadership of the Society and have an interest in a topic covered by one of the Committees. To assist with the solicitation of Strategic Committee members, the following purposes have been identified for each committee:

**Outreach:** This committee is to ensure that SME will establish strategic partnerships/relationships, alliances and coalitions.

**Structure & Governance:** This committee is to ensure that SME will review and reshape its infrastructure to better align with and support its strategic plan.

**Products and Services:** This committee is to ensure that SME will be the primary resource of mining and underground construction information for all stakeholders.

**Finance:** The Finance Committee is to ensure that SME will maintain a financially secure and stable organization in order to execute its strategic plan.

**Education and Professional Development:** This committee is to ensure that SME will be its members' indispensable resource for professional services.

For your information, listed below is the current 2012/2013 SME Board of Directors and Strategic Committee Members:

Drew A. Meyer, 2012 SME President Jessica Elzea Kogel, President-Elect John N. Murphy, Past President David L. Kanagy, Executive Director

#### **Directors-at-Large**

Barbara J. Arnold (13) Thomas F. Peyton (13) Joseph M. Driscoll (14) Jonathan G. Price (14) Marc A. Herpfer (15) Hugh B. Miller (15)

### **Finance Strategic Committee**

Hugh Miller, Chair (15) Bill Edgerton (13) Jim Humphrey (13) Bill Wilson (14) Erik Berkhimer (14) Steve Gardner (15) Jim Komadina (15)

### Structure & Governance Strategic Committee

Marc Herpfer, Chair (15) Madan Singh (13) Mike Trevits (13) Jamal Rostami (14) To be determined (14) Dan Eyde (15) Charles Kliche (15)

## Products & Services Strategic Committee

Rick Honaker, Chair, (13) Joe Driscoll (14) Amy Jacobsen (13) Murali Gadde (14) Joe Carnahan (14) Charles Beasley (15) Gary Buchan (15)

### **Outreach Strategic Committee**

Tom Peyton, Chair (13) Jurgen Brune (13) Shaun Graber (13) Mary Korpi (14) Peter Dolph (14) Donald Dwyer (15) John English (15)

# **Education & Professional Strategic Committee**

Jon Price, Chair (14) Komar Kawatra (13) Gary Skaggs (13) William Wilson (13) Dan Alexander (14) Mike Nelson (14) John Uhrie (14)

#### **Nominating Committee**

Drew Meyer, President & Chair (13)
Jessica Elzea Kogel, President-Elect (13)
Barb Arnold (13)
Tom Peyton (13)
Ron Parratt (13)
Mary Poulton (13)
Mike Myers (14)
Mike Sheahan (14)

I would ask that you forward any recommendations with a photo and brief bio for consideration to Mary O'Shea (oshea@smenet.org) no later than **July 31**, **2012**. Mary will compile a list for final review by the Nominating Committee.

Thank you for your membership in the Society and your continued commitment to the mining community. I look forward to receiving your recommendations and nominations.