Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

UVC Awards & Nominations  

Howard L. Hartman Award

The Howard L. Hartman Award, established in 1989, recognizes distinguished contributions in the practice, teaching, or research in the field of underground ventilation engineering. The award shall be made every two years and shall consist of a plaque engraved with the name of the award and the recipient. Election to this honor is by the Executive Committee of both divisions and the SME Board of Directors.

There are no limitations regarding the nationality, professional field, membership in the Institute, or otherwise.



A Hartman Award Subcommittee shall be convened immediately after the SME Annual Meeting in the year prior to the symposium. The Co-Chairpersons of the Subcommittee will solicit nominations for this award at this time. The Subcommittee will be comprised of the six immediate past Chairpersons; and Co-Chaired by the two most recent past Chairpersons. The Subcommittee should receive nominations prior to January 1 of the following year. Nominations should give a full and complete statement of the reasons for proposing the candidate, with a record of his/her professional and industrial achievements in sufficient detail to enable the Subcommittee to pass judgment on the candidates worthiness to receive the award. Should a Subcommittee member, including either Subcommittee Co-Chairperson, be nominated for the Award, he/she will be disqualified from the Award Subcommittee. The UVC Chairperson will also designate a new Subcommittee Co-Chairperson should this be required. The Subcommittee will select the Award nominee by the SME Annual Meeting and will submit the nominee to SME by March 15 for approval. When there are more than two nominees , voting for the award shall be on the basis of voting 1 for the first choice, 2 for the second choice, and 3 for the third choice, etc. In the case of a close vote, the top candidates may again be referred to the committee. Presentation of the Award will be made by one of the Subcommittee Chairpersons, or designate, at the U.S. Mine Ventilation Symposium.


The following table provides a list of the previous recipients of the Howard Hartman Award.

1989 Howard L. Hartman
1991 Malcolm J. McPherson
1993 W.J. Wang
1995 John R. Stevenson
1997 Raja Ramani
1999 Rudolf Greuer
Fred Kissell (joint)
2002 Pierre Mousset-Jones
2004 Pramod Thakur
2006 Jan Mutmansky
2008 John Marks
2010 Andrzej Wala
2012 Keith Wallace


For more information on submitting a nomination for the Howard L. Hartman Award contact the Chairperson (Key Personnel).


2010 Howard L. Hartman Award Winner Andrzej Wala.


 Back to main UVC page.



© SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).