Forgot password?
  Search thousands of documents on OneMine - the online global mining and minerals library:
  Find the industry products
and services you need.

Young Leaders Committee  

The Young Leaders Program was created in 2001 with the charter to provide young SME members with the opportunity for professional and career development. The Young Leaders Program gives the younger membership of SME the chance to:


  • Network with key players in the industry
  • Gather technical information important to the professional growth
  • Remain involved with SME after graduation
  • Transition into more active leadership roles throughout SME
  • Develop and lead professional development programs within SME.

    Each year, energetic young professionals who have demonstrated leadership abilities and the desire to become more involved with SME are selected to participate in the Young Leaders Program and Committee. Recipients of the Young Leader Award will serve on the Young Leaders Committee for four years. During that time they will work with the other members of the committee to develop SME’s Professional Development Program.

    The purpose of the Professional Development Program is to expand SME’s offering beyond the technical aspects of the minerals industry by providing additional programs that focus on professional and career development. These programs will take place at the Annual Meeting through symposiums, workshops and short courses and they may be expanded to include regional meetings as well as online forums. The Professional Development Program will be offered to all members of SME.



    Young Leaders Committee Files:

    Young Leaders Committee Officers

    Abram Woodward Chair 2013
    Lucas R. Moore Co-Chair 2013
    Richard M. Diaz Secretary-Treasurer 2013
    Joshua J. Chlopek Professional Development Chair 2013
    Tristan H. Jones Selection Chair 2013
    Matthew A. Petrovich Marketing Chair 2013
    To be appointed Financial Chair 2013
    Michi M. Whittall Student Relations Chair 2013
    Justin D. Anderson Member 2013
    Ryan T. Desko Member 2013
    Richard C. Kim Member 2013
    Anu L. Martikainen Member 2013
    Stephen K. Statham Member 2013
    Heather Trexler Member 2013
    James G. Donovan Member 2014
    Ryan M. Murray Member 2014
    Dana C. Reinke Member 2014
    Dawn A. Schippe Member 2014
    John Stefanic Member 2014
    Paul D. Vuljanic Member 2014
    Abram Woodward Member 2014
    Rosalyn Campbell Member 2015
    Joshua J. Chlopek Member 2015
    Richard M. Diaz Member 2015
    Tristan H. Jones Member 2015
    Matthew A. Petrovich Member 2015
    Arunkumar Rai Member 2015
    Rebecca A. Ruckman Member 2015
    Nate Waters Member 2015
    Michi M. Whittall Member 2015
    Joseph R. Zirkle Member 2015
    Jacob L. Carr Member 2016
    Heather H. Dougherty Member 2016
    Fiorella Giana Member 2016
    Melissa L. Martinie Member 2016
    Edward P. Meisburger Member 2016
    Lucas R. Moore Member 2016
    Susan M. Moore Member 2016
    Jeffery G. Tysoe Member 2016
    Mona Vandervoort SME Staff ex officio n/v 2013


    The Young Leaders Committee would like to thank the following sponsors for making our activities for the 2010-2011 year possible:

    PBS Coals Inc.
    Consol Energy
    Penn Virginia resource Partners
    Cumberland Corp 



    © SME · PH: 303-948-4200 and 800-763-3132 · FAX: 303-973-3845
    12999 E. Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO 80112 - Sitemap
    SME is a member society of OneMine, the SME Foundation, and the
    American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers (AIME).