UCA Person of the Year Award

The UCA Outstanding Individual Award will be presented to an individual (contractor, engineer, owner, supplier) for outstanding achievements in the underground construction industry.

The Outstanding Individual Award recognizes those individual(s) who have made significant contributions to the field of tunneling and underground construction and to UCA during the last two to five years, as well as sustained involvement in UCA activities and its various committees.


Past Award Recipients:

Ray Henn is a Principal with Lyman Henn, Inc. of Denver, Colorado. The firm specializes in geotechnical and tunnel engineering and consulting. After serving in the U.S. Army with a tour of duty in Vietnam, Ray entered college for the first time. Armed two years later with an AAS in construction technology, a career was launched. Ray continued his schooling on a part-time basis over the years, completing his Ph.D. in Mining Engineering in 2005. Ray has 37 years of experience in heavy civil and underground construction industry. The first 25 years of his career was spent in the field working for both contractors and on construction management assignments. He has worked as a field engineer through superintendent to construction manager, and most recently as a consultant. Ray’s consulting assignments range from leading tunnel design teams, serving on dispute review boards, serving as an arbitrator and mediator, serving as a member on value engineering teams, and as a member of technical consulting boards. Ray still finds time to give pro bono lectures at the Colorado School of Mines, as well as talking with individual students about careers in the underground construction industry. Ray has published two text books and is working on a third through the American Society of Civil Engineers on tunnel grouting. Ray is past president of AUA and the NAT 2004 Conference Chairperson. He is the recipient of the ASCE’s 2002 Roebling Award in Construction Engineering. He is a 33 year member of SME, a member of ASCE, the Moles, and the Beavers.

For more information, please contact SME at awards@smenet.org.