Miner of the Year Award

The Miner of the Year Award was established by the Mining & Exploration (M&E) Division in 2012 and was first awarded in 2013. It is presented to a person in recognition for getting “Rock in the Box.” This award is designed to recognize mine-site leaders who are able to manage production, people, community, safety and be good stewards of the environment and is funded by Atlas Copco, Inc.

View the award guidelines

Submit a Nomination

Miner of the Year - Past Award Winners

2021 - Vern Goglio
2020 - John D. Welsh
2019 - Mel K. Lawson
2018 - Andrew P. Cole
2017 - Kurt W. Keskimaki
2016 - A. Clayr Alexander
2015 - Tom M. Goodell
2014 - Clyde H. Peppin
2012 - Cherie M. Tilley

For more information, please contact SME at awards@smenet.org.