Rossiter W. Raymond Memorial Award

The Rossiter W. Raymond Memorial Award was established in 1945 and recognizes the best paper published by AIME in a given period where the lead author is a member under 35 years of age. This award honors one of the Institute's founders who served as President and Secretary and was an Honorary Member. In addition to being a consulting mining engineer, Raymond was a practicing lawyer, sailor, soldier, writer, orator, editor, theologian, teacher, novelist and chess player.

Past Award Recipients

2021 – Emily J. Haas
2017 – Christopher Aaron Noble
2013 – Timothy W. Beck
2010 – Kimberly A. Lewandowski and S. Komar Kawatra
1999 – Srinivas Veeramasuneni

For more information, please contact SME at