Syd S. & Felicia F. Peng Ground Control in Mining

The Syd S. and Felicia F. Peng Ground Control in Mining Award is awarded for excellence in ground control technologies. The purpose of the award is to provide recognition to individuals that have demonstrated technical and scientific excellence in advancing the understanding of ground control technologies or approaches by either publication or direct applications in the mining industry. The annual award will be given to an individual or a group that: (1) has shown insight and understanding of ground control issues by developing concepts, theories or technologies that have been adopted by the mining community, or (2) has successfully implemented a ground control design or designs or practices.

The award will be available to individuals/groups that have made such contributions to ground control related to coal and/or non-coal (metals, commodities, etc) or aggregate mines. In addition, in 2009, the Syd Peng Fund has added two Ground Control in Mining Scholarships to promote the science of Ground Control. Recent trends in mining engineering professionals indicate a shortage of competent ground control engineers. To help remedy this situation and promote the ground control engineering discipline, an undergraduate and/or graduate scholarship(s) will be awarded annually to encourage the development of ground control engineers.

Past Award Winners

2022 - Gabriel S. Esterhuizen

2021 - Rob Thomas

2020 - David A. Newman

2019 - Alan A. Campoli

2018 - Zacharias G. Agioutantis

2017 - Jiachen Wang

2016 - Gregory J. Hasenfus

2015 - Xie-Xing Miao

2014 - Stephen C. Tadolini

2013 - Ismet Canbulat

2012 - Bruce Hebblewhite

2011 - Frank Kendorski

2010 - Keith Heasley

2009 - Anthony Iannacchione

2008 - Thomas M. Barczak

2007 - Winton J. Gale

2006 - Christopher Mark

2005 - Wen H. (Daniel) Su

For more information, please contact SME at